About The Band


Grooving in Green formed in 2008 when guitarists Pete and Simon Manning started writing music together for the first time in over 14 years. As a nod to the bands origins and inspirations they once again took their name from a March Violets song. Later that year Tron joined on vocals completing the lineup.

In early 2009 the band set to writing their debut EP ‘Ascent’ which was described as “Obvious Quality” (Mick Mercer) and proved to be a hit on compilations and in clubs and later that year released their second EP ‘Dirt’.

In 2010 the band recorded and released their debut album ‘Post Traumatic Stress’ produced by Stephen Carey (Eden House), mastered by Andy Jackson (Pink Floyd engineer) and featuring a guest contribution from Tony Pettit (Fields of the Nephilim). Mick Mercer described it as “A cool collection, with plenty of musically combustible uppity carousing you can’t fail to enjoy”. The album was placed at number 15 of Dominion Magazines Top 20 albums of 2010 and was placed in several Top 20′s of 2010.

In 2012 the band recorded their second album Stranglehold with Stephen Carey with Andy Jackson once again handling mastering duties. It was released by AF Music with positive reviews across the board: Mick Mercer said “‘Post Traumatic Stress’ was an excellent debut album. This is even better.”
Billyphobia.com said “Extremely infectious underground music made of energy-giving and harsh sounds that focuses on straightforward forcefulness to groove in goth” and Graveconcernsezine.com said “This record is the cookie-cutter example of a great, and grooving goth rock album.” The album topped the European Alternative Charts for two weeks consecutively. In late 2012 Simon Manning left the group.

In 2013 Joffie Lovett temporarily joined the line up prior to the band going on temporary hiatus for the remainder of the year.


Members of Grooving In Green

  • Tron – Vocals (Solemn Novena)
  • Pete Finnemore- Guitars (Children On Stun)
  • Switchblade Switch – Bass
  • Simon Rippin – Drums (Eden House/NFD/Nefilim)

our discography

  • Ascent E.P (June 2009)
  • Dirt E.P (October 2009)
  • Post Traumatic Stress (October 2010)
  • Stranglehold (November 2012)
  • Rebirth EP (June 2015)
  • A Little Soul (2018)
  • A second Chance (June 2019)
  • Warning Signs (October 2019)